Bing Goes Live This Morning

A few days late, Microsoft this morning launched their new Bing search engine. live.com will now redirect to bing.com, as Bing is the replacement to Live.

Here’s a general review of it. Before we start I wanted to point out that, at the time of this writing, Bing still has “preview” below it’s logo. I wonder if this is simply an oversight, or if this is Microsoft’s equivalent to “Beta”…

First of all, and I know this is really basic. I like the home page. It’s interesting. The background changes daily. I personally like it better than a white background with occasional logo variations…

Next, categorized search. Say you were to type in some movie, Ironman for example. On the search results page, you will be given the standard results, images on top, as normal. But if you take a look on the left, you’ll see various categories within your search (script, images, trailer, etc). If you were to click on the trailer button, it will do another search for “ironman trailer”.

The next feature I want to show you is one that has been given some bad feedback around the internet. If you’re still on that “ironman trailer” page, you will see some trailer videos on the top of the screen. If you were to hover over one of them, the trailer will begin playing, right there in the search engine. This is a neat feature, but here’s what has some (including me) concerned. If you’re not careful with your safe-search settings, Bing will preview anything. Not the best plan in the world.

Another feature is a text preview of websites. Many times, I don’t know whether a site is worth my time to see if it contains what I’m looking for. Bing has a feature where if you hover over the right side of a search result, Bing will give you a text preview of the website.

One more feature that stood out to me. Travel search will compare airlines, rental cars, hotels, etc. This isn’t anything new, but it is certainly convenient to have it all in one place (with search, etc.). It will also compare it’s results with other companies like hotwire.com, expedia.com, etc.

To close, I think I’ll keep using Google for my search, but I think Bing might be a close second. If I were a big Windows Live guy, maybe. But I’m not, I’m a Google-ite.

How about you? The comments are open for you to share your likes and dislikes of the new Bing.

Leave a Reply

