Another Day, Another Facebook Hack

While the public is still reeling from Koobface, Facebook has yet anther hack running around. How it works is a friend gets their account compromised (not quite sure how yet, but probably by falling for this hack) and then sends an email to all of that person’s friends. If you actually click on the link, you will be redirected to another website (I think there are multiple websites that you could be sent to) which is suspected to be a malware attack site.

So, my advice? I think my readers can pretty much guess:

  • Disconnect from the internet
  • Run Spybot S&D
  • Backup all of your files. This time, don’t do it on a shared external HDD or flash, or on a device that you have used recently to back up files.  We don’t want a Conficker-type scenario (i.e. Conficker can spread via networks and flash drives).
  • Run a good anti-virus program (do a complete scan).
  • Change your FB password on the same computer (because you have to be logged in, I wouldn’t recommend doing it on a different computer until you actually know what the problem is)
  • Change any passwords you care about (other than FB) on a different computer.
  • Yada…Yada…Yada

As of right now, I don’t have any specifics on any malware that might be downloaded as a result of this virus, but will post if I get any.

And, here’s my confession to make. Believe it or not, I fell for it…to an extent. I was redirected to a site that was blank execpt for some sort of error message (no, it wasn’t a 404 :P). But…Praise the Lord, I was on my Apple iPod. So with it being both a mobile device as well as Apple, I didn’t get smashed. I usually let my guard down slightly (from Geekily High to Very High security level… I still entered the link into the URL bar 😉  ) when I’m on my Apple device, because I know that almost nobody writes viruses for Apple products, due to the low market share.

Truth be told, I changed my passwords.

One Response to Another Day, Another Facebook Hack

  1. RayS says:

    My dad also fell for it; thankfully he was on a mac.
    The other thing about windows and viruses is that because programs can have access to the root level (if on admin account), the computer is easier to compromise.

Leave a Reply

