Virus-proof Macs?

Whenever I’m talking with people about Mac, one of the first things that those in favor of Mac say is something to the effect of, “Macs never get viruses, you know.” While I give a nod to the fact that due to Mac only taking up ~4% of the market share, most virus creators would rather target Windows, what many don’t realize is that Mac is just as hackable. We’re talking about a UNIX based entity here, folks. That’s what Mac is based on. Ever heard of Apache? Linux? Those have never been hacked, have they?

My post comes in the wake of a new trojan, iBotnet, that has begun to infect Mac computers.  It’s a pretty low risk trojan, so I wouldn’t sweat about it too much. You can read about it on Norton’s website, as well as CNN (I know, they’re pretty computer illiterate over there…).

Please understand that I’m not saying that Mac has more virus related problems, even an equal or close number of them. All I am saying is that everything that man makes is fallible, even if that man was Steve Jobs (or Bill Gates, or any other man). Mac isn’t perfect. Linux isn’t perfect. Windows isn’t perfect. All can be exploited. All have.

How about we put aside this dispute and treat our computers as what they are. Tools.

8 Responses to Virus-proof Macs?

  1. Michael says:

    Oh me. You know Tony is perfect, and he told me Macs don’t get viruses. So there.

  2. Highlander37 says:

    Not to be the fact freak Jack, but Apple has 10% of the market share. According to the news which said that 10% of all new computer sales were Apple Computers

  3. Jack says:

    Wow, I didn’t know that. In my statistic, though, don’t you think we should include computers that are already in use? That would be the number that a virus creator would look at. With new sales like that, though, in a few years Mac could very well become a major factor in the computer market. (after many years of relative obscurity to the general public)

  4. Highlander37 says:

    Let me correct myself, 10% of all NEW computers are sold by apple.

  5. Tony says:

    Well, hold up.. I said not yet.. I’ve told many people this. No one builds them.. I do have anti-virus software for my Mac… so if we’re going to put the debate aside, does that mean no more hating on the Mac, Jack??? 😛

  6. Highlander37 says:

    @ Tony
    This is kind of off subject, but what antivirus software do you use for your mac? I just got a macbook, so I have been looking around for a good antivirus software to use…

  7. Yes…wondering the same Tony..My mac is hopefully coming this week.

  8. Jack says:

    Hold on. I don’t spend my time “hating on the Mac”. Just because I don’t use Mac and have reasons for it doesn’t mean I’m against Mac. I just wouldn’t put my business into the hands of a Mac, that’s all. I’ve heard wonderful things about Mac. But for now, I’m going to stay in the PC camp.

Leave a Reply

