Windows 7

On January 9, 2009, Microsoft will release the Beta version of the new Windows 7 operating system. They will have it available at their Windows 7 web page. It will be on a download-only basis to the first 2.5 million downloaders. Its a .ISO, so you will need to burn it to a DVD if you want to use it. Use of the operating system expires August 1, 2009.

I’m really excited about Windows 7. The new features are nice, sure. But it’s the performance enhancements I’m looking forward to. They have engineered it to be faster, smoother, and more intuitive.

If you go and install it, be sure you have a full backup of your current OS, as this is a BETA, not a release. The reason it exists is for people to find the bugs, before it is fully released. Also be sure you have the orignal media you installed your current OS with, otherwise you’ll be stuck come August 1.

Again, I want to stress, if you don’t know what you’re doing, don’t do it. As cool as Windows 7 is, I would not recommend it if you actually have any need to get work done on the machine it is installed on. If, for some reason, everything goes wrong, you don’t want to be stuck.

10 Responses to Windows 7

  1. Highlander says:

    Well they are at it again…………I wonder what will go wrong with this one πŸ™‚

    • Jeff says:

      Be careful what you say. From what I’ve seen, this could be as “good” as OS/x (if you’re an Apple guy).

      Time will tell…

  2. Ray says:

    I remember how I got excited over Vista’s betas when they came out; but the final product wasn’t that exciting. Thus, I think I’ll pass this beta.

    On another note.. I’d love to sponsor your blog and help you with a wordpress design in the future. Right now though, I’m short on time so this is a future wish. πŸ˜€

    But this is something I can do right at this moment: for $50/year I can get you basically unlimited hosting space, email addresses, and a domain name, if you’re interested. (but it will be a Linux server)

  3. That’s funny.. I just read an article today on it in PC World, I think it was.. Sounds interesting.. It will be neat to see how people react.

  4. Tito says:

    Do not bring OS X down to the level with Microsoft!
    Hope they rename 7, kinda boring name.
    I know, they should name it after big cats!
    Nope, been done.
    It looks cool, but it is Windows, nonetheless.
    Still prefer Mac though.

    Tito

    • Jeff says:

      Quoth the one who has spent 15 minutes with it….:p

      Windows 7 is the official release name, and I am not quite as obsessed with cats…

      I use the best I know of for my work, analyzing cost, performance, and compatibility, to list a few factors. I have nothing against Apple, I’m just a Microsoft programmer. If I were a graphic designer, I’d be Apple all the way. I’m not a slave to any one platform, I’ve just had the more exposure to Microsoft, along with 90%+ of the worlds computer population, I might add.

      And yes, I do plan on upgrading to Windows 7, for those who are curious.

      meow

  5. Tito says:

    30 Minutes Jeff.

    Tito

  6. Ray says:

    You see Jack, I happen to solve the issue pretty simply.
    All I need to do is boot up my open source Virtual Box ( developed by Sun Microsystems) and install Windows 7.

    Having a mac allows me to enjoy both worlds without needing two machines.

    (Unless of course, you hack the system and fake the EFI like I did to make the ultimate quad-core mac system!!)

    • Jeff says:

      That’s what I was planning on doing, actually, provided Microsoft actually releases it (see their site for details)…

      I really like Virtual box, I use it whenever I want to try something in Linux or Win98, etc. I can’t run OSx, of course, but its a pretty neat software.

      I’m really starting to think that my next computer might be a Mac, the main reasons being:

      Intel-chips – compatibility with most Windows software
      Boot camp – so I can run Windows for my programming
      Smaller market – not good as a target software audience, but less people spend time developing viruses
      Sweet GUI – not huge on my list, but I think I would like the GUI, once I got used to it
      Good track record – From my research, it appears to me that there are few patches (good and bad), good support, and few problems

      I don’t know, all I know is Microsoft, so naturally, changing would be an adventure. We’ll see, if Windows 7 is good, maybe I’ll stay.

      In the end though, what I really care about is producing a good product for my clients and glorifying God with my work, which is still possible in either platform last time I checked.

  7. Ray says:

    Amen brother.

Leave a Reply

