A New Computer

The other day I bought a computer. I upgraded it pretty extensively, but what I mainly want to talk about is a five-letter word you’ve all been hearing lately. VISTA.

For those of you who don’t have Vista, you’ve probably heard all sorts of remarks about it, similar to the following:

  • “I hate it”
  • “It runs slow”
  • “It freezes alot”
  • “Why not just pay $100 and downgrade to XP?”

Well, you may be surprised to hear it, but I LOVE Vista. So far I’ve had no problems with it. It has many more features and enhancements. The GUI is also really sweet (Windows Aero). Here is a list of some of the features I like:

  • Fast Search – XP has this really slow, annoying, creepy search tool that I only used as a last resort (starting it before I went to bed, hoping it would be done in the morning…okay, maybe not that bad)
  • Windows Media Center – A nice, central, place for storing all your media, it even has TV!
  • Remote Control – I’m a bit of a gadget guy…
  • Windows Aero – Really nice GUI – I’m on a 2.0 Ghz core 2 duo with 3gb of ram, and it runs incredibly smooth. You do have the option of reverting to a Windows 9.x look and feel if you don’t care for Aero
  • IIS functionality – google it πŸ™‚
  • Various other enhancements – including better organization of your documents, nicer integration with the rest of Microsoft’s newer products, etc.

The list could go on and on, but this should give you a good picture. If anyone has any other Vista stories (good or bad – based on your personal experience only, no “I have a friend who told me” type stories, I could make anything look bad doing that :), please share them.

10 Responses to A New Computer

  1. Matt says:

    Vista is nice at first but like any other Windows OS it bogs down after a while. We have Vista on a AMD athlon 64×2 4400 2.30ghz with 2gb ram and it’s starting to get slow. We’ve probably had it for a year and a half.

    I’m surprised to hear this from you. I thought you were a Mac guy…

  2. Highlander37 says:

    Vista does have a VERY cool gui but I switched back to the windows classic theme (because I need speed not a cool gui) & it runs great! At first Vista had a huge amount of programs (our pc died just about 2 weeks after Vista came out and we got 2) but microsoft seems to have gotten all the bugs worked out. But all in all I would much rather have a macbook pro πŸ™‚ (the new 15 inch one) but I don’t have the 3 grand plus to drop right now…………

  3. Jeff says:

    Okay, let me set the record straight :p

    I am NOT a Mac guy. I am also NOT against Mac (officially, but I do give the Mac guys a hard time anyway).

    As an addition to my post, I would say that Microsoft released Vista prematurely. The technology needed to run it just wasn’t widely used when they did. Now, though, it runs great on newer systems.

  4. Ray says:

    Other than the GUI, fast search, media center, IIS functionality, are all available on XP, plus it uses less resources. I think the main beef is, why use Vista when XP can do everything it can do without eating more resources? Some others find Vista’s UAC annoying.

    As for me, I usually choose XP over Vista because it’s far more slimmed down and streamline. I don’t really need a fancy GUI. I’m sure Windows 7 will fix most of the problems people have with Vista.

    I usually use Mac OS X 10.5 though, as it can use both 64-bit and 34-bit software at the same time.

  5. @Highlander37 – Same here… I’m broke so I probably will have to go with a PC….

    @Jeff – Yeah, I thought you were pretty much a mac guy too.

    No thoughts really on Vista…. We decided not to get one when we got a computer last year because of all the “stories” we had heard about it… but then again, since then, I have had a couple people tell me they love it… Undecided…….

  6. Tony says:

    @Matt – Tony, me, is the Mac guy. Jeff, the co-author, is definitely not a Mac guy.. (though I think I’m slowly converting him)

    I definitely am not a Vista guy, because I have a friend and a sister, who both have/had vista. (the friend switched to Mac!!!) The only real issue I have is, constant jamming unless you spend $850 or more, and the network drive mapping and network printer installing tend to jam quite often, along with the printer constantly going out and having to be reinstalled.

    One Thought for Microsoft – DEVELOP WINDOWS 7 THOROUGHLY BEFORE RELEASING IT!!!!

  7. Tito says:

    With the limited experience I’ve had with Mac (the 30 min on Tony’s at Family Camp) I love it! I do like the GUI on Vista, but prefer the Mac. Now I’m just waiting for the new Pro to drop a few *thousand* (cough cough) and I am there!

    Tito

  8. Same here Tito… just a couple thousand, please Apple?? I tease my family by the time I can buy one, I’ll be way out of college with the way they keep going up in price!!

  9. Jeff says:

    OK people, move along… This was a PRO-VISTA post. Not a Mac forum! πŸ˜‰

  10. David M says:

    Here’s what Windows should do. Keep providing support for their “ok” OSs and start developing a new one from scratch (and finish developing 7 since they already are in it. :D). They can always continue work with Windows 7, etc. but they really need to create a system from scratch.

    This would completely change Microsoft. It would show some of their creativity, they would get a ton of free news media and it would give them a chance to make the OS everybody has been waiting for: A fast, slick system that is compatible with everything that we are used to.

    I’ve mixed reports about Vista, but where I work (Computronix.com) we uninstall it and install XP on all our new computers.

Leave a Reply

