PowerToys for Windows XP

PowerToys for windows XP are a set of really neat, Microsoft created/certified addons for Windows XP. They give you many more tools and more power to your Windows XP experience. Here’s a list of some the best ones I’ve tried:

  • Wallpaper changer – select a folder with your pictures in it and set a time. Then, it rotates your wallpaper at the rate you specified. You can also setup certain pictures to appear on certain days.
  • Alt-Tab Replacement – Instead of simply having the application’s icon appear, this PowerToy also shows you a preview of the page. This is really nice when you have several sessions of a program open.

Those are the ones I’ve tried so far. In the future I plan on trying others, like:

  • Virtual Desktop Manager – Use up to four desktops from the Windows taskbar.
  • UI Tweak – Gives you greater control over the user interface
  • Taskbar Magnifier – Magnifiy part of the screen from the taskbar.

Enjoy! And tell me what you think.

4 Responses to PowerToys for Windows XP

  1. Jeff –

    Have you tried their move maker yet? I saw it on there and since I have the old version, I am seriously thinking about downloading it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Neat programs on that site!

  2. Jeff says:

    I personally don’t recommend the Windows Movie Maker. It is very limited in its features, and I don’t think it works very well. Of course, since its free, that gives it some appeal ๐Ÿ™‚ . I know, I normally only have the best to say about Microsoft’s products, but in this case, I was disappointed.

    If you do any more video editing besides maybe 30 minutes once a month, I would highly recommend my readers go and buy something decent. Of course, if you can spring for a few hundred (thousand in some cases) clams, the top recommendation would be the Adobe Suite (Premiere, Audition, AfterEffects, Soundbooth, etc.). This will get you set for movie, sound, etc. Premiere especially is the one for video editing.

    But for those of you not willing to spend $800 (Premiere CS4) – $1700 (Adobe CS4 Production Premium), here’s a lower end product I recommend.

    Pinnacle Studio. This software is quite good, has some nice features, and is a good solution for home, day-to-day, video editing. It runs at ~$120; a breath of fresh air after seeing Adobe’s prices (although Adobe is worth every penny).

    Again, Windows Movie Maker is fine for certain purposes (Like a simple 5 minute fix on a video), but before you will start seeing any real power, you have to spend a few bucks.

    I would argue that this applies to the entire software world. Free-ware is Ok, but don’t be afraid to spend a few dollars on something worthwhile that will last.

  3. Makes sense… although I don’t use a video editor a lot. =D I mostly just put together slideshows with pictures and music… not much of the actual camcorder and video clips.

    I will definitly keep Pinnacle in mind. Thanks Jeff!

  4. Isabella08 says:

    I have Pinnacle it is works really well.

Leave a Reply

